

## University Graduate School 2009-2010 Academic Bulletin

## **Mass Communications**

# College of Arts and Sciences Bloomington

#### **Co-Directors**

Professor Walter Gantz\* (Telecommunications) and Professor Emeritus Trevor Brown\* (Journalism)

## **Graduate Faculty**

(An asterisk [\*] denotes membership in the University Graduate School faculty with the endorsement to direct doctoral dissertations.)

#### **Professors**

James Brown\* (Journalism), Trevor Brown\* (Emeritus, Journalism), Richard Burke\* (Emeritus, Telecommunications), Edward J. Castronova\* (Telecommunications), Barbara Cherry\* (Telecommunications), Dan Drew\* (Emeritus, Journalism), Jack Dvorak\* (Journalism), Susan Eastman\* (Emerita, Telecommunications), Walter Gantz\* (Telecommunications), Maria Grabe\* (Telecommunications), Peter Jacobi\* (Emeritus, Journalism), Annie Lang\* (Telecommunications), Shannon Martin\* (Journalism), Michael McGregor\* (Telecommunications), David P. Nord\* (Journalism), Christine L. Ogan\* (Emerita, Journalism), Carol Polsgrove\* (Emerita, Journalism), Harmeet Singh Sawhney\* (Telecommunications), David Waterman\* (Telecommunications), David H. Weaver\* (Journalism), G. Cleveland Wilhoit\* (Emeritus, Journalism), Lars Willnat (Journalism)

#### **Associate Professors**

David Boeyink\* (Journalism), Bonnie Jeanne Brownlee (Journalism), Erik Bucy\* (Telecommunications), Claude H. Cookman (Journalism), Mark Deuze\* (Telecommunications), Jon Paul Dilts\* (Journalism), Michael Evans\* (Journalism), Anthony L. Fargo\* (Journalism), Julia R. Fox\* (Telecommunications), Owen V. Johnson\* (Journalism), James Kelly (Journalism), Radhika Parameswaran\* (Journalism), Robert Frank Potter\* (Telecommunications), Steven Laurence Raymer (Journalism), Amy L. Reynolds\* (Journalism), S. Holly Stocking\* (Emerita, Journalism), Herbert Terry\* (Telecommunications)

#### **Assistant Professors**

Andrew James Bucksbarg (Telecommunications), Michael Thomas Conway (Journalism), Hans Ibold (Journalism), Lesa Hatley Major (Journalism), Nicole Martins (Telecommunications), Emily Metzgar (Journalism), Bryant M. Paul (Telecommunications)

University Graduate School Kirkwood Hall 111 Indiana University Bloomington, IN 47405 (812) 855-8853

Contact: grdschl@indiana.edu

nications), Lee Sheldon (Telecommunications), Andrew Weaver (Telecommunications), W. Joann Wong (Journalism)

#### **Graduate Advisors**

Associate Professor Amy L. Reynolds\*, Ernie Pyle Hall 200H, (812) 855-8111 (Journalism); Professor Maria Elizabeth Grabe\*, Radio-TV Center, (812) 856-2460 (Telecommunications)

## **Degree Offered**

#### **Program Information**

The School of Journalism and the Department of Telecommunications jointly offers a Ph.D. in Mass Communications. This doctoral program prepares students (1) for teaching and research in mass communications, (2) for careers that demand advanced scholarship within professional media organizations, and (3) for careers in government that relate to mass media.

## **Special Program Requirements**

(See also general University Graduate School requirements.)

## **Doctor of Philosophy Degree**

See "Doctor of Philosophy Degree in Mass Communications" in the School of Journalism and the Department of Telecommunications entries for admission and degree requirements, course descriptions, and recommended courses in other departments.

#### **Courses**

## Graduate

G741 Ph.D. Research in Mass Communications (cr. arr.)\*\*
G790 Readings and Research in Mass Communications
(1-3 cr.)\*\*

<sup>\*\*</sup>These courses are eligible for a deferred grade.