Ψ indiana university

University Graduate School 2008-2009 Academic Bulletin

Mass Communications

College of Arts and Sciences Bloomington

Co-Directors

Professor Walter Gantz* (Telecommunications) and Professor Emeritus Trevor Brown (Journalism)

Graduate Faculty

(An asterisk [*] denotes membership in the University Graduate School faculty with the endorsement to direct doctoral dissertations.)

Professors

John Ahlhauser* (Emeritus, Journalism), James Brown* (Journalism), Trevor Brown (Emeritus, Journalism), Richard Burke* (Emeritus, Telecommunications), Dan Drew* (Emeritus, Journalism), Jack Dvorak (Journalism), Susan Eastman* (Emeritus, Telecommunications), Walter Gantz* (Telecommunications), Peter Jacobi* (Emeritus, Journalism), Annie Lang* (Telecommunications), David P. Nord* (Journalism), Christine L. Ogan* (Journalism), Carol Polsgrove* (Emeritus, Journalism), Harmeet Singh Sawhney* (Telecommunications), David Waterman* (Telecommunications), David H. Weaver* (Journalism), G. Cleveland Wihoit* (Emeritus, Journalism)

Associate Professors

Donald Agostino (Emeritus, Telecommunications), David Boeyink* (Journalism), Bonnie Jeanne Brownlee (Journalism), Erik Bucy* (Telecommunications), Edward J. Castronova* (Telecommunications), Claude H. Cookman (Journalism), Jon Paul Dilts (Journalism), Michael Evans* (Journalism), Julia R. Fox (Telecommunications), Maria Grabe* (Journalism), Julia R. Fox (Telecommunications), Maria Grabe* (Journalism), Owen V. Johnson* (Journalism), James Kelly (Journalism), Michael McGregor* (Telecommunications), Radhika Parameswaran* (Journalism), Steven Laurence Raymer (Journalism), Amy L. Reynolds* (Journalism), S. Holly Stocking* (Journalism), Herbert Terry* (Telecommunications)

Assistant Professors

Andrew James Bucksbarg (Telecommunications), Michael Thomas Conway (Journalism), Anthony L. Fargo (Journalism), Lesa Hatley Major (Journalism), Bryant M. Paul (Telecommunications), Robert Frank Potter (Telecommunications), Lee Sheldon (Telecommunications), W. Joann Wong (Journalism)

Graduate Advisors

Associate Professor Amy L. Reynolds*, Ernie Pyle Hall 200H, (812) 855-8111 (Journalism); Associate Professor Maria Elizabeth Grabe*, Radio-TV Center, (12) 856-2460 (Telecommunications)

Degree Offered

Program Information

The School of Journalism and the Department of Telecommunications jointly offers a Ph.D. in Mass Communications. This doctoral program prepares students (1) for teaching and research in mass communications, (2) for careers that demand advanced scholarship within professional media organizations, and (3) for careers in government that relate to mass media.

Special Program Requirements

(See also general University Graduate School requirements.)

Doctor of Philosophy Degree

See "Doctor of Philosophy Degree in Mass Communications" in the School of Journalism and the Department of Telecommunications entries for admission and degree requirements, course descriptions, and recommended courses in other departments.

Courses

Graduate G741 Ph.D. Research in Mass Communications (cr. arr.)** G790 Readings and Research in Mass Communications (1-3 cr.)**

**These courses are eligible for a deferred grade.