

University Graduate School 2008-2009 Academic Bulletin

School of Education

Bloomington and Indianapolis

Dean

Professor Gerardo M. González*

Associate Dean for Graduate Studies

Professor Mary B. McMullen*

Departmental E-mail

educate@indiana.edu

Departmental URL

http://site.educ.indiana.edu

Departmental Phone Number

(812) 856-8504

Graduate Faculty

(An asterisk [*] denotes membership in the University Graduate School faculty with the endorsement to direct doctoral dissertations.)

Chancellor's Professors

Robert Arnove (Emeritus), Roger Farr (Emeritus), George D. Kuh*, Frank Lester*, Martha McCarthy*, Rex A. Stockton*

Armstrong Chairs

Jerome Harste (Emeritus; 1999–2005), Frank Lester* (2000–2005), Diana Lambdin* (2005–2010)

Jacob Chair

Thomas Duffy* (1998–2000), Donald Cunningham* (2000–2005), Sasha Barab*

Rudy Professor of Learning Sciences

Richard Arthur Lesh*

Professors

Trudy Banta* (I), Charles Barman* (I), Curtis Bonk*, Marilynne Boyle-Baise*, Catherine Brown*, Barry Bull*, Leonard Burrello*, Cary Buzzelli*, Phil Carspecken*, Judith Chafel*, Nancy Chism* (I), Jack Cummings*, Ginette Delandshere*, David Flinders*, Gerardo M. González*, Jesse Goodman*, Don Hossler*, Thomas Huberty*, Gary Ingersoll*,

University Graduate School Kirkwood Hall 111 Indiana University Bloomington, IN 47405 (812) 855-8853

Contact: grdschl@indiana.edu

Graduate Office Union Building 207 Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis Indianapolis, IN 46202 (317) 274-1577

Contact: gradoff@iupui.edu

Peter Kloosterman*, Dennis Knapczyk*, Christine Leland* (I), David Mank*, Mary McMullen*, Larry Mikulecky*, D. Keith Morran* (I), Chao-Ying Joanne Peng*, James Pershing*, Jonathan Plucker*, Charles Reigeluth*, Charles Ridley*, Patricia Rogan* (I), Jose Rosario (I), Heidi Ross*, Thomas Sexton*, Robert Sherwood*, Martin Siegel*, Russell Skiba*, Eugene Tempel (I), Neil Theobald*, Donald Warren* (Emeritus), Susan Whiston*, Barbara Wolf*

Associate Professors

Valarie Akerson*, Joyce Alexander*, Jeffrey Anderson*, John Bean*, Beth Berghoff* (I), Barbara Bichelmeyer*, Jacqueline Blackwell* (I), Elizabeth Boling*, Thomas Brush*, Gayle Buck*, Gretchen Digman Butera*, Mary Fisher* (I), Theodore Frick*, Enrique Galindo*, Ken Hay*, Dan Hickey*, Mary Beth Hines*, Lara Lackey*, Gerardo Lopez*, Bradley Levinson*, Mitzi Lewison*, Terrence Mason*, Luise Prior McCarty*, Alex McCormick, Anastasia Morrone* (I), Khaula H. Murtadha* (I), Martha Nyikos*, Theresa Ochoa*, Robert Osgood (I), Douglas Priest*, Floyd Robison* (I), David Silk (I), Anne Dopkins Stright*, Margaret Sutton*, Chalmer Thompson*, Vasti Torres*, Robert Toutkoushian*, Michael Tracy*, Elizabeth Vallance*, Andrea Walton*, Genevieve Williamson*

Assistant Professors

Kate Baird (C), H. Gerald Campano*, Stephanie Carter, Peter Cowan, James Damico, Jeffrey Daniels*, Dionne Danns, Suzanne Eckes, David Estell, Robert Helfenbein Jr. (I), Robin Hughes (I), Signe Kastberg (I), Ken Kelley III, Robert Kunzman, Marjorie Cohee Manifold, Rebecca Martinez, Thomas Nelson Laird*, Faridah Pawan*, Dwight Schuster (I), Joshua Smith (I), W. Raymond Smith, Elizabeth Wood (I), Tarajean Yazzie-Mintz

Full Clinical Faculty

Laura Stachowski

Associate Clinical Faculty

Robert Appelman, Keith Chapin, Carole-Anne Hossler, Barbara Korth

Assistant Clinical Faculty

Carrie Chapman, Danielle DeSawal, Melissa Keller

Emeriti

Billy Abel, Anita Aldrich, Hans Andersen, Jean Anderson, Chris-

tine Bennett, Dean Berkley, William Best, Harbans Bhola, Ellen Brantlinger, Arthur Brill (I), Ronald Britton (I), John Brogneaux, Laurence Brown, Edward Buffie, Leonard Burrello, Ronald Carlson, Ledford Carter, Michael Chiappetta, Gilbert Clark, Michael Cohen (I), Ivor Davies, Bette Joe Davis (I), Ronald Dehnke (I), Richard Dever, Merle Draper (I), Earl Dvorak, Marvin Ebbert (I), Lee Ehman, Susan Eklund, Meryl Englander, Gene Faris, Albert Fink, Malcolm Fleming, Thomas D. Froehle, Dorothy Gabel, Robert Gibson, Mary Gilchrist (I), Richard Gousha, Thomas Gregory, Sadie Grimmett, Egon Guba, Samuel Guskin, Dale Hall, Robert Harris, Stuart Hart (I), Robert Heinich, Ruth E. Holland (I), Ernest Horn, Guy Hubbard, Edward Jenkinson, Alice Jwaideh, Susan Klein, DeWayne Kurpius, Duaine Lang, John LeBlanc, William Lynch, George Maccia, James Mahan, Golam Mannan (I), Gerald Marker, Milton Marten, Wendell McBurney (I), Edward McClellan, Jerry McIntosh, John McKinley, R. Bruce McQuigg, Howard Mehlinger, Marianne Mitchell, John Moldstad, Michael Molenda, Daniel Mueller, Charlie Nelms, Anabel Newman, Anna Ochoa, Norman Overly, Vernon Pace, John Patrick, Lewis Polsgrove, Joan Prentice, Gerald Preusz (I), Sharon Pugh, Edward Robbins (I), Dale Scannell, Thomas Schwen, Myrtle Scott, Robert Shaffer, Mendel Sherman, Carmen Simich-Dudgeon, Carl Smith, Frederick Smith, Gerald Smith, Vernon Smith, Josephine Spear, Elizabeth Steiner, James Walden, Donald Warren, James Weigand, Barbara Wilcox (I), Hugh Wolf (I), Leslie Wood (I), Virginia Woodward, Enid Zimmerman

(I) after a faculty member's name indicates that the person teaches at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis; (C) at Indiana University-Purdue University Columbus.

Degree Offered

The Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) degree is offered through the University Graduate School. In addition, the School of Education offers the Master of Science (M.S.) in Education, the Specialist in Education (Ed.S.), and the Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) degrees. (See the School of Education Graduate Program Bulletin.)

Doctor of Philosophy Degree

Fields of Study

Counseling psychology; curriculum and instruction; learning and developmental sciences; higher education; history, philosophy and policy studies in education; instructional systems technology; language education; and special education.

Program of Studies

The Ph.D. degree with a major in education is pursued under the direction of a committee appointed by the University Graduate School and the School of Education. As with other Graduate School doctoral programs, a minimum of 90 credit hours of course work is required. This includes a major (selected from the fields of study listed previously), a minor, a series of research courses, and a dissertation. Written and oral qualifying examinations are taken following course work; a final oral defense of the dissertation research completes the program. Up to 30 credit hours of graduate course work may

be transferred from other universities, with the approval of the advisory committee.

Admission

Admission recommendations are made by program area and School of Education admission committees and are based on graduate and undergraduate grades (especially in academic courses), scores on the General Test of the Graduate Record Examination (GRE), and letters of recommendation. The TOEFL examination is required for all international applicants. Online applications may be accessed through the School of Education Office of Graduate Studies Web site at http://site.educ.indiana.edu.

Students earning a Ph.D. degree in education must fulfill all requirements of the University Graduate School (as found in this bulletin) and of the School of Education (as found in the School of Education Graduate Program Bulletin).