INDIANA UNIVERSITY

University Graduate School 2006–2007 Academic Bulletin

Education

School of Education
Bloomington and Indianapolis

Dean

Professor Gerardo M. González*

Director

Associate Professor Lynne Boyle-Baise*

Departmental E-mail

educate@indiana.edu

Departmental URL

www.indiana.edu/~educate/admiss.html

Graduate Faculty

(An asterisk [*] denotes membership in the University Graduate School faculty with the endorsement to direct doctoral dissertations.)

Chancellor's Professors

Robert Arnove*(Emeritus), Roger Farr* (Emeritus), George D. Kuh*, Martha McCarthy*, Rex A. Stockton*

Armstrong Chairs

Frank Lester* (2000-2005), Diana Lambdin*

Jacob Chair

Thomas Duffy* (1998-2000), Donald Cunningham* (2000-2005), Sasha Barab*

Otting Chair

Samuel Odom*

Rudy Professor of Learning Sciences

Richard Arthur Lesh*

Professors

Trudy Banta* (I), Charles Barman* (I), Christine Bennett*, Curtis Bonk*, Catherine Brown*, Barry Bull*, Leonard Burrello*, Cary Buzzelli*, Phil Carspecken*, Judith Chafel*, Nancy Chism* (I), Jack Cummings*, Gerardo M. González*, Jesse Goodman*, Don Hossler*, Thomas Huberty*, Gary Ingersoll*, Peter Kloosterman*, Dennis Knapczyk*, Christine Leland* (I), David Mank*, Larry Mikulecky*, D. Keith Morran* (I), Charlie Nelms, Chao-Ying Joanne Peng*, James Pershing*, Charles Reigeluth*, Charles Ridley*, Patricia Rogan* (I), Jose Rosario (I), Heidi Ross*, Thomas Schwen*, Thomas Sexton*, Martin Siegel*, Russell Skiba*, Eugene Tempel (I), Neil Theobald*, Susan Whitson*, Barbara Wolf*

Associate Professors

Valarie Akerson, Joyce Alexander*, Jeffrey Anderson* (I), John Bean*, Beth Berghoff* (I), Barbara Bichelmeyer*, Jacqueline Blackwell* (I), Elizabeth Boling*, Marilynne Boyle-Baise*, Thomas Brush*,

University Graduate School Kirkwood Hall 111 Indiana University Bloomington, IN 47405 (812) 855-8853 Contact: grdschl@indiana.edu Ginette Delandshere*, Mary Fisher* (I), David Flinders*, Theodore Frick*, Enrique Galindo*, Nelson Goud (I), Ken Hay*, Dan Hickey*, Mary Beth Hines*, Bradley Levinson*, Mitzi Lewison*, Terrence Mason*, Luise Prior McCarty*, Mary Benson McMullen*, Anastasia Morrone* (I), Khaula H. Murtadha-Watts* (I), Martha Nyikos*, Robert Osgood (I), Jonathan Plucker*, Douglas Priest, Floyd Robison* (I), David Silk (I), Anne Dopkins Stright*, Margaret Sutton*, Chalmer Thompson*, Vasti Torres*, Robert Toutkoushian*, Michael Tracy*, Andrea Walton*, Genevieve Williamson*

Assistant Professors

Sheri Anderson, Kate Baird (C), William Black (I), Gretchen Digman Butera, H. Gerald Campano, Stephanie Carter, Peter Cowan, James Damico, Jeffrey Daniels, Dionne Danns, Paulette Patterson Dilworth, Suzanne Eckes, David Estell, Robert Helfenbein Jr. (I), Robin Hughes (I), Signe Kastberg (I), Ken Kelley III, Robert Kunzman, Lara Lackey, Gerardo Lopez, Marjorie Cohee Manifold, David Martin (C), Rebecca Martinez, Thomas Nelson Laird, Anderson Norton III, Theresa Ochoa, Faridah Pawan, Dwight Schuster (I), Joshua Smith (I), W. Raymond Smith, Karen Venditti (NW), Elizabeth Wood (I), Tarajean Yazzie-Mintz

Clinical Faculty

Robert Appelman, Keith Chapin (Kinesiology), Carrie Chapman, Barbara Korth,

Emeriti

Billy Abel, Anita Aldrich*, Hans Andersen*, Jean Anderson*, James Becker, Dean Berkley*, William Best, Landon Beyer*, Harbans Bhola*, Ellen Brantlinger*, Arthur Brill (I), Ronald Britton (I), John Brogneaux, Laurence Brown*, Edward Buffie*, Larry Campbell, Ronald Carlson, Ledford Carter, Michael Chiappetta*, Gilbert Clark*, Michael Cohen* (I), Ivor Davies*, Bette Joe Davis (I), Ronald Dehnke (I), Richard Dever, Merle Draper (I), Maxine Dunfee*, Earl Dvorak*, Marvin Ebbert (I), Lee Ehman*, Susan Eklund*, Meryl Englander*, Gene Faris*, Leo Fay*, Albert Fink*, Malcolm Fleming*, Thomas D. Froehle*, Dorothy Gabel*, Robert Gibson*, Mary Gilchrist (I), David Gliessman*, Richard Gousha*, Thomas Gregory*, Sadie Grimmett*, Clifford Grigsby (I), Egon Guba*, Samuel Guskin*, Dale Hall, Robert Harris*, Stuart Hart* (I), Robert Heinich*, Ruth E. Holland (I), Ernest Horn*, Guy Hubbard*, Lawson Hughes*, Everett Jarboe (I), Lucy Jacobs, Edward Jenkinson*, Alice Jwaideh*, Susan Klein*, DeWayne Kurpius*, Duaine Lang*, John LeBlanc*, William Lynch*, George Maccia*, James Mahan*, Golam Mannan (I), Gerald Marker*, Milton Marten, Wendell McBurney (I), Edward McClellan*, Jerry McIntosh*, John McKinley*, R. Bruce McQuigg*, William Medlyn, Howard Mehlinger*, Marianne Mitchell*, John Moldstad*, Michael Molenda*, Daniel Mueller*, Anabel Newman*, Anna Ochoa*, Norman Overly*, Vernon Pace*, John Patrick*, Joan Perisho, Lewis Polsgrove*, Joan Prentice*, Gerald Preusz (I), Sharon Pugh*, Edward Robbins* (I), Dale Scannell, Myrtle Scott*, Robert Shaffer*, Mendel Sherman, Carmen Simich-Dudgeon*, Don Small, Carl Smith*, Frederick Smith*, Gerald Smith*, Vernon Smith*, Josephine Spear*, Elizabeth Steiner*, James Walden*, Donald Warren*, James Weigand*, Barbara Wilcox* (I), Hugh Wolf (I), Leslie Wood (I), Virginia Woodward*, Enid Zimmerman*

(FW) after a faculty member's name indicates that the person teaches at the Fort Wayne campus; (I) at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis; (E) at the East campus; (K) at Kokomo; (NW) at the Northwest campus; (C) at Indiana University-Purdue University Columbus; and (SB) at South Bend.

Associate Dean for Graduate Studies

Associate Professor Mary Benson McCullen*, 4278 Education, (812) 856-8393

Degree Offered

The Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) degree is offered through the University Graduate School. In addition, the School of Education offers the Master of Science (M.S.) in Education, the Specialist in Education (Ed.S.), and the Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) degrees. (See the *School of Education Graduate Program Bulletin.*)

Doctor of Philosophy Degree

Fields of Study

Counseling psychology; curriculum and instruction; learning sciences; higher education; history, philosophy and policy studies in education; instructional systems technology; language education; and special education.

Program of Studies

The Ph.D. degree with a major in education is pursued under the direction of a committee appointed by the University Graduate School and the School of Education. As with other Graduate School doctoral programs, a minimum of 90 credit hours of course work is required. This includes a major (selected from the fields of study listed previously), a minor, a series of research courses, and a dissertation. Written and oral qualifying examinations are taken following course work; a final oral defense of the dissertation research completes the program. Up to 30 credit hours of graduate course work may be transferred from other universities, with the approval of the advisory committee.

Admission

Admission recommendations are made by program area and School of Education admission committees and are based on graduate and undergraduate grades (especially in academic courses), scores on the General Test of the Graduate Record Examination, and letters of recommendation. Interviews are required in some programs.

Application forms are available from the School of Education Office of Graduate Studies Web site at http://www.indiana.edu/~educate/admiss.html.

Students earning a Ph.D. degree in education must fulfill all requirements of the University Graduate School (as found in this bulletin) and of the School of Education (as found in the School of Education Graduate Program Bulletin).